No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fitted and residual values routine?

Dear STATA list users,
    I am relatively new to STATA and I need help with the following problem. I have a panel dataset and I want to calculate the residuals and fitted values of a preliminary regression, where each fitted and residual value is calculated for the unit of observation of my panel, and for all the years of the panel. I have currently 212 such units and so far I have been inputting the following commands in the example below about 212 times,
    EXAMPLE:
    xi: reg iGDP jGDP if PairsofAdjacentstatesij =="OR, ID", robust
    predict double resid155 if PairsofAdjacentstatesij =="OR, ID", residuals
    replace final=resid155 if PairsofAdjacentstatesij=="OR, ID"
    order resid155

and for the the fitted values, again for 212 pairs of adjacent states:
    xi: reg iGDP jGDP if PairsofAdjacentstatesij =="OR, ID", robust
    predict common155 if PairsofAdjacentstatesij =="OR, ID"
    replace finalcommon=common155 if PairsofAdjacentstatesij=="OR, ID"
    . order common155

However there must be a faster way of doing this instead of manually entering the commands.

Can someone help wit this or indicate a good source (manual, website) to lear about this?

Thank you very much for all the help you can provide on this.

Elena

Well, taking your code at face value, it seems you want to loop over the values of a variable PairsofAdjacentstatesij.

[code]
    levelsof PairsofAdjacentstatesij, local(pairs)

foreach p of local pairs {
    regress iGDP jGDP if PairsofAdjacentstatesij == `"`p'"', robust
    // etc.
    }

The -foreach- command is well worth learning. Check out -help foreach- and the corresponding section in the manual.