Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Propensity Score Matching in combination with Difference in Difference using an unbalanced panel

Hi,
    I'm fairly new to Stata and am using version 12 for Windows. Recently, I am just starting to implement DID with propensity score matching into practice, I have so many confusions and questions before applying matching.
    1. I found most people are using command psmatch2, but some people using pscore. What is the difference among psmatch2, nnmatch and pscore?
    2. I conclude the procedure as follows:
    A.Estimate the probability of participation using a probit or logit model and create the predicted ‘propensity score’ to participate for each observation.
    B.Limit the original sample to a new dataset which only include matched pairs.
    C.DID
    The procedure (matching -> newdata -> DID) is vague. If the dataset is an unbalanced panel, how to do the first step? matching year by year? I am confused about a method to do pairwise matching with unbalanced panel data in Stata. Could you offer me more details which should be taken care during this process.
    As for my project, 2 dimensions for our DID are: inside zone vs. outside zone and before the year of implementation(2007) vs after 2007.
    As some people told me to calculate ATT difference year by year, so it will have a DID estimate every year. How to explain them? Or only calculating ATT difference between "pre" and "post" year?