No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• D-i-D analysis in panel data

Hi to all Stata experts,

I am currently new to Stata and I am trying to make a differences-in-differences analysis using electoral panel data within two years (1997 and 2000) where the treatment takes place in 2000 over a set of municipalities. I used the following code:

Code:

xtreg id year
    xtreg yvar treatment year=2000 treatment*year [a set of controls], fe
    My idea is having fixed effects by municipality. Nevertheless, Stata tells me that my treatment variable is omitted because of collinearity and that is problematic since I need that variable to assure the validity of the interaction and finally of my treatment. There is something I am missing in the code or in my identification strategy? I have the same problem even dropping the set of controls.

Thanks in advance,

Iván Higuera

First, you should always show the exact code that you ran and what results you got. I do not believe what you posted is the code you ran. If nothing else you can't have year=2000 in the xtreg statement, nor is treatment*year valid syntax in that context. Also, xtreg id year makes no sense at all (though it is syntactically valid.)

I'm guessing you meant something like this:
    Code:
    xtset id year
    xtreg yvar i.treatment##i.year, fe
    and Stata threw out treatment beause of collinearity.

As well it should. The treatment variable is constant within id, so it is collinear with the fixed effect and a separate effect cannot be estimated.

But you are not actually interested in the effect of treatment. In a differences in differences analysis, the "treatment effect" is actually estimated by the coefficient of the treatment#year interaction term. And this kind of fixed-effects model is one of the few circumstances where a regression model that includes an interaction but omits one of the main effects is well-specified.

Comment