Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Baffled by some methods used in papers - anyone an idea...

Dear Stata-users,

As a researcher I came across a method used in some empirical studies where they use a two-step regression, where:

FIRST: y is regressed on a set of variables x (establishing a "normal" level - and the residual is the "abnormal" level)
    SECOND: the residual is then regressed on a second set of variables z to test whether some of these variables can explain the "abnormal" level.

Now, my question is: isn't this residual a constructed variable - thus, making inferences invalid? You kind of give the first set of variables x the right to explain y, then less is left for the variables of interest z...

Can anyone help clarify why someone would choose to adopt this two-step regression?

Thanks in advance,

Ines

People probably do these kind of things in order to "test" a theory they believe in. That such a "test" violates basic assumptions is in the best case overlooked and in the worst case conveniently ignored.
    You are correct that the inference is invalid in this case, but not because they use a constructed variable in the second stage. The problem is that in the first case the authors need to assume that the residuals are independently identically distributed while in the second step the assume that the residuals depend on some other characteristics. If this is indeed the case, they have omitted variable bias in their first regression. Only when the second set of variables z is uncorrelated with the first set x, there is no bias, but it that case to could have estimated everything in one step. You may want to look at the Frisch–Waugh–Lovell theorem for some more background on this.
    Best,

Aljar

Comment