No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sorting data to compute the median income

Hello,

I am new to Stata and am working with the Canadian SLID data, based on the Census data. I performed all my calculations in Excel as Stata for Mac was not available at my University until very recently. I would like to double-check my results with Stata.

I am using an income variable that I want to sort in order to find the median value. Is there a built-in command to do that in Stata?

In addition, my dataset covers the 10 Canadian provinces. Is there a way to perform a "filter&sort"?

1) Filter the data pertaining to a given province (e.g. #1) (for example, filtering the data that have "1" in the Province column )
    2) Finding the median income for that province

Thanks in advance for your help.

Francois

check the "detail" option for the -summarize- command to get medians (and much other descriptive summary info)

I'm not sure what you mean by filter, but there are several ways to get this information for particular provinces; you might use "if" as in -su var if province==1, d-; another option would be to use -forval- if your values are numbered: e.g., if numbered 1-10, you might do:

forval i=1/10 {

su var if province==`i', d

}

there are other ways also, but you need to be clearer about what you want

Rich

Comment

Or perhaps:

bysort province: summ income, detail

Comment

Thanks Rich for your quick answer. Could you be a bit more specific about the the median command? What I see on the top menu is : Statistics / Summaries, Tables and tests /... but Median is not in te list.

Province: my dataset for year 2010 is composed of several income variables (columns). In one of these columns, there is one assigned to "province" where a number is assigned to each province. For example, Quebec = 1, Ontario =2 and so on.