No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chi-square goodness of fit ?

Greetings,

I am new to STATA and I need help with adding categories to a variable. Here is what I have done so far.

I used ICD9 codes and extracted the observations that have the diagnosis that I need. For each of them I generated a new variable (CODE1, CODE 2 etc) that have the number of observations for that specific condition. Now I would like to compare these categories to see if there is a statistical difference by ethnicity across each diagnosis. I am trying to merge these CODE variables into a single variable that has all CODE listed as categories. I dont know how to proceed since using gen DXALL max(CODE 1, CODE 2 etc) just adds them together under 1 category.

My command for the test is this
    csgof race, expperc (25 15 15 15 15 15)

Please let me know if there are any other details I should provide

I don't understand all of what what you did, but it sounds like making a simple problem very hard. A chi-square test comes most often and most easily out of a cross-tabulation. See for example

Code:

. sysuse auto
    (1978 Automobile Data)

. tab fore rep78, chi
    You really shouldn't need to calculate frequencies yourself. csgof, which you should explain as coming from UCLA, is not for testing association, but for fitting a single distribution.

Please study FAQ Advice at http://www.statalist.org/forums/help, especially Sections 6, 12 and 18.

Comment

Sorry I wasn't clear on my initial post and thank you for pointing me to the FAQ. I had to recode the variables because they were coded as strings. This is what generated label values for ICD9 codes that I need. I was using

Code:

tab CODE1 RACE, chi2
      But this doesnt provide me with percentages so I thought I'd use csgof just to get %

Comment

Look at the help for tabulate twoway to find out more information about displaying percentages.