No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Variable types and best practice in handling changes of these in dataset

Dear members, hello again!

As a new Stata programmer, I have a new question, more about correct procedures and code:
    - changing a variable type from date (%tm) back to a string, to adjust to pre-written code
    - or, if should I even do that or go back and change initial data

I have code that I wrote for my research (with the help of many Statalist members, last year). This code uses several times interactions between two string variables (yrmonth, rtype)

For this new research, I prepared the data with yrmonth variable in %tm not in string. (The data this time around was initially in days. So, I extracted the yrmonth from a date %td.)

I see two solutions:
    1) go back and change all the initial date to include a string field for month and year also (where now I have DMY dates),
    2) change the date yrmonth format to string

What is the best practice suggested?
    And if item 2, please, help me with this simple code:

For changing the date (yrmonth) to string, I tried:

Code:
     gen str_yrmonth=string(yrmonth)

Results came out like:

Code:
    str_yrmonth

I am considering just leaving the data like this, since I will be using ordering and filtering for which Stata recognizes the periods.

Does anyone foresee a problem?

I am using Stata 12.1 for Mac.

Thank you for any tips!

Regards,
    Clarice

Clarice,