Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I loop sequentially through observations within a variable?

Hi there,
    I am quite new to STATA and am still getting to grips with the syntax. I want to loop through my variables using something like:

local j
    j=2
    while (var(j)==var(j-1)) { /*Here, var(j) means the j'th observation of the variable 'var'*/
    ...do something...
    j=j+1
    }

My question is how should I be writing the var(j) part? Also, should I be using _n instead of declaring some j?

Thanks

You probably want to tell us exactly what you're trying to do. It's pretty rare that you actually need to loop through observations within a variable since Stata processes commands by doing just that.

Likely you want something like:
    some command if var==var[_n-1]

However all advice at this point is just speculation without more information about what you're trying to do.

Comment

Right, sorry. I've attached a sample of my data with the relevant variables. Firmno is an arbitrary counter for firms, fpedats is an end-date for relevant forecasts and revdt is the date of these forecasts. I would like to create a do-file that will have some nested loops which will run through in a manner like:

local i 1
      local j 1
      for (i = 1, firmno[i]==firmno[i-1],++i) {
      while (fpedats[j]==fpedats[j-1]) {
      [INDENT=2]...do something with revdt...[/INDENT]
      }
      }

The 'do something' part is no problem for me. I realise that this is a very basic question but my problem is with STATA's language. I know this isn't right but I'm don't know how to structure this using STATA's loops (foreach and forvalue) or if I'm calling the observations in the correct manner.

EDIT: Actually, sorry, for completeness I'm also generating a new variable to store results in. So my loop look something like this:

local i 1
      local j 1
      gen var C_w

for (i = 1, firmno[i]==firmno[i-1],++i) {
      j=1