Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [HELP PLS] "use" command ambiguous abbreviation error

Just a heads up: I am very new to Stata, and have to do a project for my Econ class, so please excuse my lack of understanding!

I have a .DTA file that is too large to open in Stata as a whole, because Stata can only take 2,048 variables. I have been typing in the following command to open specific variables I need for my regression: "use v009 v437 v438 using [filename]" and its been working for those three variables. However, I need to import two more variables from this large data set: m18 and m19. When I type in "use m18 m19 using [filename]" just like I did for the other variables, Stata gives me an error message saying: m18 ambiguous abbreviation.
    After doing some searching around the internet I found away to turn off this error message by typing the command: "set varabbrev off, perm" but a new error message is returned: variable m18 not found.
    These variables are vital for the success and completion of my project which is due next week, so I would really appreciate any help you could offer!

Thank you very much,
    Ven
    Last edited by Ven Gopal; 20 Apr 2017, 13:18.

Hi Ven,

You are having that error message, probably because you have other variables in your dataset that start with "m18" and/or "m19". So you could try to write the whole name of your variables if that's your problem.

But, I higly recommend you to get StataSE if you work with large datasets.

Regards

Comment

It's not Stata that has a limit -- of 2047 variables -- but the Intercooled flavour, but evidently that is what is biting.

Evidently more than one variable has a name starting m18, which is why Stata is complaining.

Setting variable name abbreviation off doesn't solve the problem: you are then committed to typing the complete name, and evidently no variable has m18 as the complete name.