No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Confused about something

Hello,

I am completely new to STATA and have a problem I am struggling to solve. I am taking a course at a university, but are doing this on my spare time so do not have the possibility to attend classes etc. This forum seem to very good and I have a question regarding what I would think is panel data. The task is about seatbelts and I think it is a quite common task. Seatbelts is a balanced panel from 50 U.S. States, plus the District of Columbia, for the years 1983-1997. It contains the following variables:

fatalityrate, speed65, speed70, ba08, drinkage21, Income, age, sb_useage, vmt, primary, secondary, state, year and fips.

I know how to do a regression, but I am struggling with how to account for state effects. Fips is here State ID code, but how do I use stata to find say how the fatality rate differs between Florida and California if I check for sb_useage and Income? How do I see in stata what state ID is connected to what state and also how do I account for state effects compared to not doing it at all? Just use .reg fatalityrate sb_useage Income fips compared to just .reg fatalityrate sb_useage Income to not look at state effects? This is very basic, but it is quite frustrating when you are starting to learn something and you have no one to ask so hope someone could help me out.

Well, I would guess that just looking at the variable called state in your existing data set would tell you which state corresponds to which FIPS code. -browse state fips-. But if that's not the case, you can find a crosswalk at https://www.mcc.co.mercer.pa.us/dps/...de_listing.htm.

how do I use stata to find say how the fatality rate differs between Florida and California if I check for sb_useage and Income?