Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How to force Stata to use identical dummy variables for a new dataset?

I am currently totally new to Stata, and it is right now for me a supplementary tool. I find it well-documented and perfect for some tasks.
    But I cannot fully understand it’s mechanism of treatment of categorical variables.

It can be best described by example. Suppose I have the next dataset:

+---------------------+
    | category contin~s |
    |---------------------|
    1. | Cat A 5 |
    2. | Cat B 25 |
    3. | Cat C 34 |
    4. | Cat A 6 |
    5. | Cat B 22 |
    |---------------------|
    6. | Cat C 35 |

This is very simple data with variables, one categorical and one continuous. Assume that one wants to run linear regression on it (‘continuous’ here DV, ‘category’ is IV). According to Stata’s basic workflow, we should first declare ‘category’ as labeled numeric variable to run regressions and etc. on it.

encode category, generate(category_i)

Then:

regress continuos i.category_i

And we have our result. Assume we are satisfied with our model, and we want to save that for future predictions (pretty natural thing to do):

estimates save linearmod1

Everything looks fine at the moment. Then we get another data, on which we want to predict variable ‘continuous’, that looks like follows:

+----------+
    | category |
    |----------|
    1. | Cat A |
    2. | Cat A |
    3. | Cat C |
    +----------+

Now the crucial step: in order to predict on this data, we should transform ‘category’ into labeled numeric again. After doing that (with same name of the labeled numeric variable ‘category_i’), we predict results and store them in var ‘prediction’:

estimates use linearmod1

predict prediction

+--------------------------------+
    | category catego~i predic~n |
    |--------------------------------|
    1. | Cat A Cat A 5.5 |
    2. | Cat A Cat A 5.5 |
    3. | Cat C Cat C 23.5 |