Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Creating graphs showing N for number of respondents using - graph hbar (mean) - and - catplot -

Dear Stata-listers

This is my first time posting to this list, so I hope I'm able to do this "the right way".

What I would like to do, is to create a number of graphs using - graph hbar - and to have these graphs show number of respondents (N) for for each variable. Some graphs contain up to 7 different variables, for which my current code calculates the mean values. I would like to have the graph show N (respondents) for each variable to the left in the graph and the mean value of the variable to the right (outside the particular bar) (see example graph provided below).

So, as the example-graph illustrates, currently I'm able to have my graphs show N when I'm using the user written program - catplot - ( - catplot - has been written by Kit Baum and can be found on SSC ( - findit catplot - )), which is for plots of categorical data showing frequencies, fractions or percents i Stata. I hope that the code I am adding further down in this post is able to have you generate the same graph using auto.dta provided by Stata. Anyway, - this code gives me what I need for the graphs showing percentages for each value of a variable separately for a number of groups and N for each group of respondents that answered the particular question (the data I'm myself using is a type of student survey data, so the variables have Likert scales and the categories are typically master- and bachelor students, or students attending different study programmes, such as nursing, engineering, law etc)

However, I'm not able to do this for mean values of the variables when using the command - graph hbar - .
    (By the way, these particular graphs are sometimes drawn separately for different groups and sometimes not)