No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Compute average annual growth rate in Stata

Hi all,
    I'm totally new to Stata and this is my first post in this forum :-).
    I have the following problem: I have a Data set in the form of

Country Year (GDP/capita)( Labor force,total) Gross fixed capital formation, (% of GDP)
    Belgium 2000 37.564,27 4.385.026 0.24
    Belgium 2001 38.554,33 4.412.020 0.25
    Belgium 2002 39.222,34 4.450.010 0.26
    Canada 2000 40.332,43 20.354.250 0.30
    Canada 2001 42.334,44 30.254.230 0.31
    Canada 2002 43.543,32 40.543.210 0.33

The Data shown above is just an example of my entire Data set which consists of 20 countries for the time period 2002-2012. Now i want to generate a variable that is equal to ln(n+0.05) where n stands for average annual rate of growth of the labor force and the 0.05 is a constant (if it helps the variable is part of the Solow model). So my question is now how could i asses this problem as i spend already several hours searching the internet for it but still could not come up with a working solution. If it helps in the end my regression equation should look like
    ln(GDP/capita)= constant+ln(I/GDP)+ln(n+0.05).

I would highly appreciate any help to arrive at a possible solution. Thanks in advance

Best Regards

Marco Oldenhoff
    Last edited by Marco Oldenhoff; 22 Nov 2016, 10:44.

Wrong way round. Instead of several hours searching the internet, several hours reading an introductory book or the User's Guide would have been more productive.

See

Code:
    help generate 
    help regress
    for basic help.

Comment

Thanks for the advice Nick, i mean i know the basics but assessing this specific problem to generate the ln(n+0.05) still gives me headaches. So i just thought that somebody may can give me some advice. I do not have the intention to save some time here. I'm just desperate and looking for a hint to somehow arrive there.

Comment