No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Generating new variables

Hi everyone.
    I am fairly new to Stata and wondered if anyone of you more experienced users could give me a tip?

I am looking at the progression of academic careers by following a number of researchers from 1995 to 2015. Now a “start” year is chosen for each observation and I want to create a range of pre and post measures on their publication activities before and after this given year.

Say I want to make a pre measure for observations with the start year 2001:
    gen newvar = (var1_95+var1_96 +var1_97+var1_98 var1_99 var00)/(var2_95+var2_96+var2_97+var2_98+var2_99) if start_year==2001

Now I have to do this with numerous different start years and several other variables, can I do this in an easier way for instance with loops? Can I somehow automatically generate these new variables based on the start year?

Hope you can help. Thanks in advance.

I would recommend you to reshape your dataset from wide to long. A kind of mantra in this forum is that experienced users generally agree that, Stata makes it much more easier to manage complex computations using a long rather than a wide layout of the same data. Type help reshape for more details.

Comment

Sure you can do some loop, but we need preciser information before to give you the exact code :

Could you precise what var1 and var2 stand for? Are they the number of papers published by the author over the total number of papers published?

Could you describe your data (or input some using dataex)? It seems you have wide data (because your variables are called var_95 var_96, etc...
      It would be easier to add the condition on years, but also to do a forvalues loop using long data (see help reshape), or at least with variables renamed var_1995 ... var_2000,