Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Testing mediation between 10 independent variables and 1 DV, with "mixed"?

Dear all,
    I have a dataset and my model assumes that one variable mediates between 10 independent variables and 1 dependent variable. All 12 are observed. Furthermore, data was collected in two countries, so I have some nesting.
    Let's say that X represents my set of 10 independent variables, and Y represents my dependent variable, and M represents my mediator.
    Until now, I've been using the "mixed" regression command 4 times (Y on X, Y on M, M on X, Y on M and X) to determine mediation, as a first cut. But of course, this doesn't calculate the indirect effect properly (i.e. re: Mackinnon Type II errors). And not exactly state-of-the-art.
    As you can see, I'm a bit new to testing mediation in STATA.
    I explored a bit and found the medeff command but it can't handle nested data, right?
    I could really use some advice. (I'd like to stay away from SEM if possible.)
    Regards, -Chih

Hmm... Just now found the ml_mediation command. Anybody know if this is the best route for the situation I've described above?

Comment

I don't think this is a classic multilevel analysis problem as your data are not "nested" in the sense you imply. You have two countries which should be treated as a fixed effect. Thus, at least to start, standard methods are fine. So, you don't need a random intercept model but you do need to deal with a possible interaction with a categorical variable. Interactions with mediators are usually referred to as "moderated mediation." You can find a nice discussion of this issue at http://www.ats.ucla.edu/stat/stata/faq/modmedcat.htm. That discussion shows you how to use Stata's sureg command to accomplish what I think you need to do. The references there and a little Google work will lead you to many other discussions.