Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Two way fixed effects Model , SUR and some problems

Hello everyone! Hope my post it is not too confusing.

I am studying a Panel Data Model regarding Health and Pensions Expenditures during 17 years in the UE28 countries.
    I want to see how the Health and Pensions expenditures determine each other through a SUR process.

But i have some questions:

#1 Should I calculate two different regressions ( two way model in each one, I guess) , and after all this run the SUR with both equations?

#2 I ran Pooled OLS , between , LSVD , Withing and two way fixed effects model , and the significance of the regressors changed sometimes , specially with i introduce i.year to compute the Two-way fixed effects model.. What are the causes of such insignificant in 80% of the variables? And shoul i evaluate the significance directly in the two way fixed effect model?

# 3 How can I correct for heterokedasticity , unit root and serial correlation? How severe is the problem when my sample is n=28 and t=17?

Thank you so much in advanced

Maria:
    welcome to the list.
    With n=28 and t=27 there's no valid inference that you can do.
    The recipe is, as usual, try your best to collect more data.
    Kind regards,
    Carlo
    (Stata 18.0 SE)

Comment

Dear Carlo,

My econometrics professor did not tell me that... She just told me that it is better to use more data. Also , OCDE and other institutions studied panel data models with this kind of data.
      Even if i wanted more data, World Bank and Eurostat do not have sufiicient data for almost anythuing regarding health and pensions expenditures and its determinants before 1996.

Kind Regards,

Maria
      Last edited by Maria Fleming; 09 Jun 2016, 04:28.

Comment

Maria:
        I've simply foreworded the consequence of having such a scant handful of data before recommending you to use more data.