No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Compare two models with different dependent variables

Hello

I want to choose between two linear models describing some data in my dataset. In the field that I am studying, an independent variable, say X1, is conventionally used to predict some dependent variable, say Y1:

model 1: Y1 = a1*X1 + b

I have hypothesised that X1 is a better predictor of a different variable, say Y2

model 2: Y2 = a1*X1+b

Furthermore, I propose that if a second predictor, say X2, is taken into account, the model becomes even better

model 3: Y2 = a1*X1 + a2*X2 + b

The importance of this lies in the fact, that Y1 and Y2 are calculated measures based on some raw data. So if model 2 and 3 are shown to be better than model 1, one may prefer to calculate Y2 based on the raw data, rather than Y1 for future experiments.

Now, I know that models 2 and 3 may be compared using the Akaikes information criterion (AIC). But the core argument for me is to compare model 2 to model 1 - and importantly, compare the final model, i.e. model 3, to the reference model that is conventionally used, i.e. model 1

To compare 3 to 1, the AIC does not apply, because I am looking at different dependent variables. But any suggestions on alternative methods ?

I have limited knowledge about statistics, so please explain in simple terms and please include an example with Stata commands if possible

Thanks in advance

No luck so far - I will try Cross Validated.

Comment

It sounds like you want "seemingly unlrelated regression"; try -help sureg-

hth,
      Jeph

Comment

Also, you can compare AIC and BIC of Models 1 & 2; the model with smaller values is preferred. But I endorse Jeph's suggestion of sureg, as you can compare the coefficients of X1 directly. If you do take this to Cross Validated, then cross reference the two discussions: http://www.statalist.org/forums/help#crossposting.
        Steve Samuels
        Statistical Consulting