No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Merging

Hello List,

I am quite new to stata and as you can see, this forum. I was wondering if one of you could help me and/or give me some guidance regarding a problem with merging two datasets.

I have two datasets:

(1) with deals over a certain period.

Announcement Date | cusip | company name | Deal value | acc information

For example:
    31-Jan-2003 | (6digit cusip ) | IBM | 120 mln | XXX

(there could be multiple deals on one day for a single company)

(2) CEO information per company (out of Execucomp)

Company name | name ceo | starting date CEO position | end date CEO position | age | current ceo | cusip | gvkeys | other personal information

For example:
    IBM | Ginni Rometty | 01-jan-2000 | 01-jan-2015 | 56 years | (6digit cusp) | yes | XX
    IBM | Samuel J. Palmisano | 03-march-1995 | 01-jan-2000 | 78 years | (6digit cusp) | no | XX

I want to match these CEO - Company combination with the deals from SDC. So basically I want to merge these two datasets (2 on 1), but there are more than one observation per cusip. How do I solve this problem? I thought of a m:m merge, but than the observations are all mixed and this doesn't feel right.

I think the the problem is that these deals lie within the timespans that these CEO's are in there position.
    I hope that someone could help me with this, and if you need more information let me know.

Thank you for taking the time to respond/read this.

Sander

Last edited by Sander de Boer; 18 Jun 2015, 11:00.

I gather from what you say that cusip is the main identifier in the two files, correct?

if yes, then is the goal to match only those where the announcement date is within the starting date CEO and the ending date CEO?

if yes, then I would (after making sure my dates were Stata dates (maybe they already are - you don't say), use joinby to form all combinations and then
    Code: