Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rounding off decimals

Please I am very new to Stata (using Stata 12) and will like to know the command to use to round off the decimals in avg_score to the nearest 0.5 (or to nearest whole number) affecting all values of the variable
    Thanks
    sn names score1 score2 total avg_score
    1 Mary 7 7 14 7
    2 James 5.5 4 9.5 4.75
    3 Edwin 5.75 5.5 11.25 5.625
    4 Agnes 6.5 5.5 12 6
    5 Ken 6 4.5 10.5 5.25
    6 Smith 6 5.5 11.5 5.75
    7 Willis 6.25 4.5 10.75 5.375
    8 Andy 6.5 3.5 10 5
    9 Job 6 4 10 5
    10 Helen 6.25 4 10.25 5.125
    11 Bob 6.25 4.5 10.75 5.375
    12 Emma 5.25 3 8.25 4.125
    13 Grace 6.25 3.5 9.75 4.875

You need to use numeric formats. for example %4.1f will display a number whose total output width is 4 with 1 decimal. Type -help format- for more info.
    If you provide the code use to generate the above, we may be able to give you more detailed help.
    Last edited by M. Cleves; 31 Jul 2014, 06:33.

Comment

See also the function -round()-

Code:
      replace avg_score=round(avg_score, 0.1)
      hth,
      Jeph

Comment

Thanks, it worked
        gen avg_score2 = round(avg_score,0.5) to the nearest 0.5

Comment

The question is whether you really want to eliminate information, which you do when you round the scores. Or you just want to present rounded numbers to the reader. The latter is done with format, as shown by Mario Cleves.

Comment

Correct Svend. I assumed that he wanted to display the rounded means, but retain their precision for further analysis.

Mario

Comment

Thanks all. I needed to display rounded data only and still retain original raw data

Comment

Originally posted by OBUM EZEANOSIKE View Post
                Thanks all. I needed to display rounded data only and still retain original raw data
                Then you should use the format to control the display, not -round()-.

Jeph

Comment